Policy Committee

The SPATS Policy Committee is the decision making body of the Spartanburg Area Transportation Study. Responsible for coordinating basic policies of the transportation planning process and plan implementation, the SPATS Policy Committee determines priorities of transportation projects and approves the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), the Long Range Transportation Plan, and the Unified Planning Work Program. It is primarily comprised of elected officials representing municipal, county and state governing bodies within the study area. The Policy Committee meets four times a year on the second Monday of February, June, August, and November. For the latest Policy Committee minutes & upcoming agendas, please check the downloads below.

SPATS Policy Committee 2018:

  • Chair - Rep. Junie White, Mayor of City of Spartanburg
  • 1st Vice Chair - Mike Forrester, Spartanburg County Legislative Delegation
  • 2nd Vice Chair - Jeff Horton, Spartanburg County Council
  • Julian Hankinson, Private Sector Representative
  • Roger Nutt, Spartanburg County Council
  • Sterling Anderson, Spartanburg City Council
  • Larry Chappell, Mayor of Lyman
  • Clyde Rogers Jr, Mayor of Duncan
  • Michael Meissner, Mayor of Pacolet
  • Mike Hamrick, Mayor of Cowpens
  • Whit Kennedy, Spartanburg County Planning Commission
  • Max Cash, Mayor of Chesnee
  • Bob Walker, Spartanburg County Council
  • Tom Arthur, Spartanburg County Transportation Committee (CTC)
  • Pat Watson, Mayor of Wellford
  • Cornelius Huff, Mayor of Inman
  • Sen. Scott Talley, Spartanburg County Legislative Delegation
  • Jared Wilson, City of Spartanburg Planning Commission
  • Andrew Dixon, Mayor of Reidville
  • Dewey Harrelson Jr, Mayor of Central Pacolet

Ex-officio Members:

  • Woodrow Willard, SCDOT Commissioner, Fourth District
  • Jim Feda, Deputy Secretary for Intermodal Planning
  • Yolanda Morris, Federal Highway Administrator

To see upcoming meeting dates, please visit our Policy Committee Meeting page.

More Photos